On my Phone/Rant

Yes, what I have to say today is so important that I am using my phone to blog.

I am not dying.

Yes, I said it. I know it’s been an ongoing joke the last two years but this time I’m serious. Today’s sermon touched me so deeply that I sat with the pastor after to talk, cry, and pray.

The tears were not of sadness, they were of frustration.

I have to look back at when it happened, but within the last year I heard God speak to me. I hear Him often and this time was no different than all those other times.

He told me I have between five and seven years left on this earth and to continue doing what I’m doing because I was doing it well and there isn’t much time left.

So, I did what I do. I shared this news. When people ask my prognosis, I share what the medical community says plus I share what God has told me.

Nearly every time I hear from people, “Oh, you don’t know that for sure…” usually followed by some remark about research and drugs, blah, blah, blah.

For the most part I patronize them by saying something like, “Of course nobody knows for sure…”

Well boys and girls, that train has left the station. No longer will I be as generous with my responses.

I have five to seven years left on this earth.

STOP TELLING ME IT’S NOT TRUE. Stop telling me I’m speaking death into my life. Stop telling me I can’t think like that.

People don’t like when God says No. People also don’t like death.

I’m so sick and tired of fighting with society’s view of death. I’m excited for heaven, and you should be too. That’s where the frustration came from when taking with Matty, why are people so afraid of death? Why is heaven a bad thing? You cannot think heaven is great and think dying sucks…you just can’t.

For now, for my kids, for my family I will live my best life. I will live, as I wish everybody did; like they are dying…because you are, we all are.

This changes nothing as far as my daily life. Today I will put away dishes and maybe read a book. Tomorrow I will wake up, go to work, and pick up my boys after school.

Life goes on and I’m ok with the fact that it ends.

Are you?

Are you ready?

2 thoughts on “On my Phone/Rant

  1. I’m ready! I just finished a book that encouraged me to write down the three things I want to accomplish before I die. I am working on two of those things every day. The third one will take a computer programmer’s help. I want to live each day as if it were my last.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

