Socially Speaking

I’m not even close to the same woman I was just two years ago. As my faith has grown, there have been some growing pains along the way. I choose to continue moving forward, consistently working at becoming closer to Christ.

I pray with my kids, I ended a relationship that didn’t fit my long-term plan, I trust God completely.

As I grow in my faith, it has added stress to a few of my friendships. They have become strained, distant, and some have even ended. I am not complaining, it is a natural part of growth. No two people grow at the same pace in any situation; physically, emotionally, or spiritually.

This leads to some hard decisions though.

It  leads me towards people who are ahead of me on their faith walk. I am pulled towards them as I reach ahead.

While I never want to come off as thinking I am better than anybody else, it is a natural progression. When the friends I have met through church are stagnant in their faith, I hurt for them, I encourage them, I pray for them.

When a friend says that they love their sin more than they love God and tells me to, “Get over it.” It puts up a fence.

Joshua 24:15

15 But if you refuse to serve the Lord, then choose today whom you will serve. Would you prefer the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates? Or will it be the gods of the Amorites in whose land you now live? But as for me and my family, we will serve the Lord.”

When I moved into this apartment, one of my first sermons I ever heard at Epiphany Station was talking about choosing how to live your life. The above scripture was used. I knew at that moment that it was exactly what I was looking for. THAT was what I wanted for myself and my children.

I even bought wall stencils and hung it in my kitchen prominently so that upon entering our home, people would know where we stand.

Funny though, I had to call the church office to ask about changing a word and while Millie and I were talking, she mentioned Joshua making this statement. I hadn’t even thought that it was exactly that. As for me and my house…

I am a shit of get off the pot kind of person. When it comes to raising kids, making changes, getting through life…get it done or get over it. There is no point wasting time whether it be your own time or another person’s.

For me to lead my children to Christ not only do I have to make better decisions for myself; it is my job to surround them with examples of people who are living Godly lives. I cannot maintain close friendships with people who claim publicly to love God with their whole heart while laughing in His face behind closed doors.

I cannot allow that to be the example I set for my children.

One of the Pastor’s and I talked before of having to decide if I loved the sin more than I loved God.

OUCH

If that is not a slap in the face for any person choosing to be a Chrsitian, then I believe they are fooling themselves. I am a regualr sinner and everytime this phrase pops into my head I am convicted. There are things I do that are still a struggle. I am actively working on changing them though, I actively am removing them from my life. It is far from easy and extremely painful in some cases.

This doesn’t make my sin less serious than my friend’s sin. The distinction between the two is the acknowledgement of my sin and my desire to change it.

“God knows what’s in my heart”

YA, He knows you would rather sin than love Him. He knows you don’t trust Him. Is that the message you want Him to hear?

“All sins are forgiven”

Well, it is not that easy.

Proverbs 28:13

13 People who conceal their sins will not prosper,
    but if they confess and turn from them, they will receive mercy.

We have to first confess our sins, that is only the FIRST STEP to forgiveness. We also have to turn from them. We have to be willing to stop committing the same sin over and over and over agian. We must WILLINGLY stop. Only THEN are we forgiven.

Please don’t think I am sitting over here, casting the first stone…nope. Not even picking one up. It is merely a choice I make on who I spend my time with.

As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

Leave a Reply

