It’s Working

I wasn’t sure if I should post this here or not. I was thinking it is not faith based and then I realized it is EXACTLY faith in motion.

This morning the boys were watching a movie I’d never seen. When I asked what it was, they informed me it was “Legends of Oz: Dorothy Returns” and I gasped, “Dorothy returns?”

Dorothy is the name we gave my cancer.

We then joked and laughed about them watching Dorothy Returns and they made fun of me when I fake cried and then laughed harder when I told them how angry I’d be if she really did.

“ARE YOU KIDDING ME? THIS IS FUNNY TO YOU?” WE JUST GOT RID OF HER AND YOU GUYS ARE WATCHING DOROTHY RETURNS?”

Yep, we are doing cancer right.

As I was getting ready to make the pancakes and bacon they requested for breakfast I had to first organize and put away a very large donation of person hygiene products (body wash, lotions, toothbrushes and toothpaste, hand soaps, bar soap, shampoo, face care items, and toilet paper) I said out loud how loved I felt.

“Not buy us, right?” says Kevin (age 11).

“No buddy, not by you.” I replied

“Okay, good. I didn’t want you to get the wrong idea.”

Yup…this is how you rock cancer.

We can love and joke like this because we have faith. Because we are confident in God’s love for us and our love for each other.

Because people around us love us so deeply, we are able to spend time not stressed at our limits. Thanks to a very generous gift that I would never think to give to a patient, our burden is lifted.

Thank you

One thought on “It’s Working

Leave a Reply

